All I can see

The craggy garden wall
From where, as a child, I once jumped in cardboard wings
Is falling down in the same places it always was.
Eroded by gardener's neglect and the clattering wind
Weeds crawl and sprout from between whitened stones.
Although my eyes strain for a rabbit, sheep
Some country detail not yet undone
Miles of burnt green grass are all I can see
From the window of my parents' home.
And as I try to write poetically
About each nook and cranny of the view
All I can think of is filling the page with
I love you I love you I love you.
Leave a Reply

